Established 2005 - Bookings & Enquires: 015394 33826|swim@swimthelakes.co.uk

Swim Testimonials

/Swim Testimonials
Swim Testimonials2018-08-13T14:37:39+00:00

Some of the testimonials from our wonderful swimmers

  • Adventure Swim Breaks
  • Adventure Swim Days and Shorter Guided Swims
  • Introduction to Open Water Swimming

You can also see testimonials for each swim on the relevant information page

Adventure Swims Breaks

Once again thank you so much for an absolutely awesome weekend. I was so grateful for the support you and the team gave me. I will be back. Kind Regards Shona

~~

Thank you once again for a great weekend and a wonderful experience. We had a fantastic time from start to finish. It was a privilege to be part of a great trip and I hope what is left of the season is as successful for you. It was great to visit Wastwater and find out why you guys enjoy that part of the world so much. I can see why, it was stunning.
Heather Massey

~~

BLOOMING AMAZING!!!!! Sums this weekend up well I reckon. I was apprehensive booking as a single. I need not have been. This group of inspirational people from all over the UK seemed to bond straight away. I have never felt such a love for swimming amongst such a group of individuals . It was wonderful to be a part of such a weekend. We started with an acclimatisation swim and the water felt fabulous. Facilities and food at the YHA was fantastic and encouraged the team theme ! I had the best swim of my life in Wastwater on Saturday. It was a massive challenge and I am quite sure without the support of everyone I would not have done it.

We enjoyed some great hiking, hardly noticed that everything ached as the views were so rewarding! The team were not deterred by the less clement weather on Sunday as everyone stripped down to skinz or wetsuits.
I feel very privileged to have been part of this event and really cannot thank our leaders, Pete, Tors and Steve for organising this event so well. I felt completely safe yet comfortably challenged!! You also are the provider of the best cake and hot chocolate I have ever tasted.

Thanks so much to you all

Kate  (Kate Eyles)

~~

Yet another fabulous swim trip. Thank you x  Helen Davey. August 2017

~~

Thank you to Swim the Lakes for giving me the confidence to swim the Lakes this weekend. You were wonderful. The group was awesome as well – great fun. Shelagh August 2017

~~

Just completed swim the lakes East challenge and it was fabulous swimming and company. Thanks Pete, Tors and Lianne.  Sharon Pinkney, Aug 2016

~~

Thanks for a great experience, both this year and last – something I would have never have imagined I would have done a few years ago, and it has contributed immensely to my confidence in open water. Its been brilliant to spend these days in the company of people so enthusiastic and committed to such a niche pastime – long may it continue!

Cheers, Rob  July 2017

~~

After having a fantastic time on the Helvellyn Double Dipper last year I decided to come back for even more this year. The Utterly Buttermere weekend was fantastic! A huge thank you to Pete, Tors and Lianne for an epic of swimming in three beautiful different lakes. I’ve never swam so far in one go until now, and this was made truly enjoyable and easy. I will definitely be returning for more swimming adventures next year!! Carol Brough July 2016

~~

Big thanks, to you and Pete, for a hugely challenging but brilliant weekend.  I did not imagine I would get to finish that last mile, let alone manage to do it without resorting to back stroke! It was thanks to all your support and encouragement that the breathless panic in the choppy waves of that first night ended in a euphoric front crawl finish with Sue.  What a great ending, and the lovely walk back to the YHA was a delight.

I was back in my swimming pool on Monday morning, missing the deep waters… Thanks again for a very special experience. Best wishes, Louise.  2014

~~

Many thanks for a great weekend swimming and gentle walking… this was a good introduction to open water swimming. I felt I had individual lessons on geography, politics, wild life, social & family life and much more. You have a good team so I am sure you will go from strength to strength.
As the oldest I was apprehensive meeting the younger swimmers but that did not last long.
Please pass my thanks on to all and I hope to see you perhaps in September…
Many thanks, Geraldine.

~~

Pete & Andrea,

Just a note to thank you both for a great experience … I was looking forward to it from the day I booked it but nothing in my experience had prepared me for how different it was; exhilarating, a feeling of freedom and tranquillity but most of all such great fun. If I had been at all nervous your briefings, advice and guidance throughout would have put my mind at rest. You are both thoroughly professional and genuine people.

Looking forward to booking something with you next year. Thanks again, Paul

~~

Lovely weekend of swimming in Windermere and other local spots, even the weather was fab. Brathay hall was great and the food was fab. Ele X

~~

Thank you so much for a great weekend – I was in great need of a dose of the Great Outdoors. A fun bunch of people to swim with and a bunch of nutters to stop us all from drowning – we even got the weather this time too. Big tick all round! Anne

~~

Hi Pete and Andrea, Big thanks to you both for a splendid swimming weekend.

You both looked after us so well from making sure we were safe down to that most welcome hot chocolate.  Enjoyed the walking as well and nice to be on Loughrigg and not get lost! Best wishes, Stephen

~~

Dear Pete and the rest of the team. Thanks for fabulous weekend of swimming and walking. I loved all of the swims and all of the walks. It was a great boost to my confidence. Nicky

~~

‘I’m still. Glowing from the weekend and want to send you a huge thank you for making the weekend and the challenge such a fun and supportive time. I am on a high from the achievements.It was completely perfect.’ Sue

~~

Dear Pete and Andy,

Now that I’ve dried out and eased the aching limbs, I’m getting in touch to thank you both for such a brilliant outdoor swimming weekend. The programme was just right, a variety of swims with that element of challenge and excitement, and being part of such lovely group! The venue was just right too, the perfect setting for a weekend in the Lakes.
I’ve come away more enthused than ever, thanks to you both and also Leanne, Tors and Boot. Will continue to recommend Head to the Hills (Ed. now Swim the Lakes) to others, and wish you all the best for another successful season – hope to be over there again some time!
All the best, Alison

~~

Excellent w/e of Open Water Swimming; well supported, friendly, welcoming non competitive atmosphere
Well done Pete Andy & Tors. Simon Wallis, August 2015


Adventure Swim Days and Shorter Guided Wild Swims

I would wholeheartedly recommend the Swim the Lakes team to support your swim adventures. Pete kayaked for me when I swam the length of Windermere last September. He helped me with the logistics, in swim nutrition which he then managed from the kayak along with some social media posting so my sponsors knew where I was throughout the swim. I also love the Swim the Lakes adventure breaks so would recommend those too.

~~

Yay! I had such a great time, Pete was really patient with my crawling pace..! Loved it!  Matthew James Bespoke 19th July 2017

~~

Incredibly supportive and encouraging while I was swimming Derwent water Island hop. And what a glorious place to swim. I’ll be doing more swims with you next year for sure. Cathy Bryant Aug, 2016

~~

Swim the Lakes are awesome. Nobody does it better, always a beautiful setting, detailed local knowledge and a fab vibe. If we didn’t have to work we would do this everyday…. Jak Sparkie July 2016, from Facebook.

~~

A great day, well run. Pete did a fantastic job of accommodating the whole group making the day fun and challenging for everyone. Looking forward to booking another trip already. Jamie Gerrard, Aug 2016. From facebook

~~

Awesome day, thanks Pete and Tors. I liked the flexibility to adjust the day as it unfolded. Special thanks to Tors for the swimming tip and to everyone for their patience waiting for my directionless and slow pace! John Bagshaw August 2016 Helvellyn Double Dipper

~~

A fantastic day with Pete and Tors doing the Helvellyen double dipper. The walk was challenging but rewarding, and I loved going up Swirrel edge and the views from the top were spectacular. The red tarn was beautiful and freezing which made Ullswater feel like a bath! Lots of fun little stops and challenges along the way, Pete and Tors were fun, friendly and full of local knowledge. Highly recommended, thanks guys x. Hollie Gerrard August 2016

~~

Thank you Pete and Sarah for an amazing day. My first Open Water Swimming and through Swim The Lakes’ experience, expertise, guidance and encouragement I managed to swim 1600 metres in beautiful Grasmere. If you are even just mildly tempted, go and speak to Pete Kelly and get booked up. I’m looking forward to a night swim next. Martin Bell, Sept 2016

~~

Thanks Peter and team for a fantastic day out , left the lakes feeling 20 years younger !!! Easesdale tarn swim was something that will remain in my memory for ever ! Pure happiness ! When we thought it could get no better , it did “………….. Dead mans dub brought out the child in all of us ! And no I won’t tell a soul where it is ! Can’t wait to come back for a few more dips , managed 6 in 3 days !  Jo Butters, July 2014

~~

Awesome Lakeland day out doing double dip on 2 august. Thanks to Pete and everyone. Alex Turnbull August 2014

~~


Customer feedback from our popular Introduction to Open Water Swimming Courses run in the Lake District.

This course is aimed at beginners to open water swimming, you can find out more hereintroduction to open water swimming course.

Great staff, good advice, everyone enjoyed the day, from novices to more experienced swimmers !
Swam in Rydal water, advice on safety, swim techniques, a good laugh and a little race at the end.
Would recommend to anyone, even if you’re a bit concerned about open water, this will improve your confidence in the water. Martin Coulthard.

~~

sharonirving1974@swimthelakes Had the best morning at Lake Windermere taking part in the intro to outdoor swimming. Learned so much and loved every second. July 2918

~~

I have just been on my first open water course for beginners with ‘swim the lakes’. I arrived having done 2 open water swims, that had not gone well, I just couldn’t get into rhythm and had no confidence. Now, after the course I feel totally confident at swimming open water, and learnt so much. Amazing staff, so happy, bubbly and inspiring. These guys are very experienced and made me feel totally at ease. I did this to prepare for the great North swim but think I have just found a new sport and look forward to swimming with Pete and the team again. Thank you so much. Lisa Lisa, May 2016, from Facebook.

~~

Introduction to OW swimming course was fantastic. Great tuition from Pete and Tors… beautiful environment…all round amazing experience. Will definitely be back for more. Highly recommend this to anyone wanting to dip their toe in open water ! 10/10 ! Lisa Kemp July 2016, From Facebook

~~

Great experience in a fantastic setting and lots of fun. The guys at Head to the Hills (now Swim the Lakes) were really pleasant and professional. Would definitely recommend. Thanks. Carey June 2015

~~

Really excellent introduction to open water swimming. Sue Irvine, May 2016

~~

Hi Andrea & Pete, We would both like to thank you for providing a very excellent swimming course last Saturday we both thoroughly enjoyed it and we will continue to move on to more swimming. We found a lot of the advice that you gave us was really helpful and has given us a number of things to work on which will, hopefully, improve our swimming skills. It would be nice if you would thank Lea-Anne and Tor for us as well as we found them most understanding and helpful. Thanks to all the team,  Lyn & Pete

~~

I really enjoyed the course – thanks I will recommended to others and will have a look at your site for other events – Louise

~~

Had a fantastic day on the introduction to open water swimming thoroughly enjoyed it. And feel confident for the great north swim now, I had no questions to ask as they explained everything very well I would highly recommend the head to the hills. Thanks guys 🙂 Laura Henry May 2015

~~

Just a quick note to say a big thank you for our day with you both (and rest of team). I am so pleased we booked with you before the event – otherwise it would have been a total disaster and thanks for being so kind to both of us –

Take care for now and thanks again – you’re all fab, Fiona xx

~~

Dear Pete and team,

Thanks for a really great experience. The whole approach and vibe was pitched perfectly.

I had only done a few wild swims last August and just never relaxed.

A return to the swimming pool over the last 8 months or so improved the freestyle but last Saturday was the first  open water swim since last August.

The whole team was calm/experienced and very encouraging. It was a very positive experience and one I am recommending to other would be wild swim beginners.

Kind regards, Nick Gordon.

~~

Just wanted to drop you a line to thank you all so much for Saturday morning’s swim in Rydal Water. I felt so safe and was so pleased that I was able to challenge myself by swimming to the island (something I never thought I would do).
There was a lovely atmosphere and everyone was so supportive, instructors and participants. I can’t wait to get out into the open water now knowing how I can make it safe and enjoyable.  Thanks everyone.  I’ll definitely be making a return visit.  Best wishes, Hilary

~~

Brilliant! Pete’s love of wild swimming is infectious… I reckon he could convert even the most reluctant of newbies. His knowledge of the Lake District and his ability to teach are top notch. Pete’s style is relaxed, friendly and supportive. You always feel in safe hands. I absolutely trust this bloke and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Head to the Hills (now Swim the Lakes) to anyone who dares to plunge! Amanda Alexander July 2015.

~~

look forward to meeting you guys then. My friend has been on a couple of your courses and said you were brilliant.
Very best wishes, Paula

~~

Fantastic tuition in amazing surroundings. Can’t recommend enough! Nick Barnes May 2014

~~

Great morning in Rydal Water exceeded my expectations. Brilliant! Louise Dunn  June 2014

More Testimonials from our Swimming weekends in 2014

Introduction to open Water Swimming Course Testimonies 

Introduction to Open Water Swimming Course Reviews 2013

Introduction to Open Water Swimming Course Reviews 2012

Book Introduction to Open water Swimming

Book an Adventure Swimming Break

Book A Days Swimming Adventure

If you are having problems booking swims call 015394 33826 or email [email protected] and we will contact you. Swim the Lakes Dismiss